How much commission should be offered?

Jp7272j

I am new to vending and am working on placing a pop machine in a new location and the owner is looking to make some money off the machine also.  Is there a going rate for commission or a percentage of profit to kick back to the business?  Thanks for all the help.

Jeremy

There is no set or average commission rates. I determine vend price based on my cost and commission.  Unless it is a high volume account I am not willing to sacrifice my margins. My goal is to double my money on each item. So if a can drink cost me .30 I am going to get a .60 vend price. If the guy wants 10% I would sell the m for .65 to .75. I vary my vend price based on what I think I can get. At a hotel you can get more than at a car dealership. Sometimes I make them hit minimums before I pay commissions.  3 cases a week or more or no commissions as an example.

There is just no set way to do commissions. You have to figure out what will work to get you the accounts and make sure the prices are not to high for the customer base that you loose sales because of a high vend price. Each account is different and you have to be able to negotiate what works for you and the account.

What type of account is it?

There is no set or average commission rates. I determine vend price based on my cost and commission.  Unless it is a high volume account I am not willing to sacrifice my margins. My goal is to double my money on each item. So if a can drink cost me .30 I am going to get a .60 vend price. If the guy wants 10% I would sell the m for .65 to .75. I vary my vend price based on what I think I can get. At a hotel you can get more than at a car dealership. Sometimes I make them hit minimums before I pay commissions.  3 cases a week or more or no commissions as an example.