Round 2 With Pro Vending Cousultants (RJT)

I said in my last post about Pro Vending that I would bring RJT back. RJT came up about 2 weeks ago and we spent the day knocking on doors together.

While I'm learning how to "cold call" I am quickly realizing that I will never be the best person for this job ;) Don't get me wrong, I love meeting new customers, talking vending, and giving proposals. I am fairly competent at these parts of selling I just don't think that my personality lends itself to the cold call ever feeling natural. It used to really bother me to say stuff like that. As a small business owner I always think I am the best one for every job within the business.

We had another surprisingly productive day. We spent about 5 hours selling made 16 stops and left 12 goodie bags. By the end of the day we had 4 hotels waiting for proposals. One of these hotels is a high volume account that we went and saw last time we were out selling. This time we got the nod to do a proposal. We also got a "I'm busy, but call and make an appointment" at a manufacturing company that I had been eyeing for a couple of years. On Friday I made my 3rd trip to this account and presented my proposal. I think my chances are good that I can close this account. I also found out on Friday that the business has 2 locations in the area, so I may be heading to that one this week to get a proposal done for them too.

Like I said in my last post I have known RJT for awhile now, but started paying for his services about 8 months ago. Its funny because when RJT would suggest something in casual conversation I would take it into consideration as a suggestion. When you pay for the same advise I feel an obligation to follow through and act on the suggestion. Its kind of the same mentality that makes you over eating at the buffet, I paid for "all you can eat" so I better eat all I can.