Validator problem, coin mech question

donut

Ok, I first have to tell everyone that I am completely new to the vending machine business stuff, and just obtained 2 soda machines within the last month. I'm trying to get them ready so I can place them... Please, no laughing at the new guy's total lack of knowledge :)

One machine I obtained(a DN-440 single-price) had a Maka NB-15a-400f bill validator in it that was completely dead.... So i got on ebay and found a Maka NB-15a-200 that I figured would swap the non-working one out. My problem now is that when I put a bill in, the validator spits it back out after getting only about 1/2 of the bill in... I cleaned the thing pretty thoroughly (I think), but can't figure out what the problem is... I don't know if I can swap out some parts from the 200 to the 400f? This machine has a Coinco 3340-s coin mech in it.....

The other machine I obtained is a DN-348 (single price). In this machine, the bill validator is a Coinco Mag50B. There is no coin mech, and the plug that went from the validator to the coin mech was torn off... I figure I can just put a new plug back on the end. As far as the coin mech, does it matter what kind of coin mech I put in the machine, as long as it meets the voltage requirements, or is there some sort of compatibility matching that has to be done? In other words, do I have to put a coinco coin mech in, or can it be a mars or xyz brand? If it can be any brand, what about the plugs? Will all the plugs work with one another or will I have to find adapter plugs/wires?

Ok, I first have to tell everyone that I am completely new to the vending machine business stuff, and just obtained 2 soda machines within the last month. I'm trying to get them ready so I can place them... Please, no laughing at the new guy's total lack of knowledge