Guidance for route on sale on CL

benmaller

I am a newbie to the vending business and have been considering starting a honor box business. I've come across a local route for sale on Craigslist and was hoping to get some advice. So far I've only spoken to the gentleman on the phone and will be meeting in person later this week. Here are the details I have so far:

Route : 14 months old

Stops : 20 locations (using the plasic box from Freedom Vend with a padlocked money box)

Net Revenue : $610/wk (he says all documented and certified)

Asking Price : $5650

Reason for selling: His wife and him started with intent to run for ~3 years before retiring to Florida. His dad's health is failing and they have decided to move to retire now and move to florida to be with his father.

Questions I have:

1.) Is $610/wk net profit reasonable for 20 locations? From reading reports on this forum, it seem most folks expect an average box of $20-30 gross revenue in a week or so.

2.) what would be reccomended docs to verify income? tax records? product receipts?

3.) Asking price? I've seen a couple mentioning 4x monthly gross as a reasonable price for snack box route, in which case the asking price seems very reasonable. But still from a price per location, the price seems high (~280/location) especially given the length of time the route has been established. thoughts?

4.) has anyone used the Freedom Vend boxes before? Info on their cost? I've contacted the company but they've yet to return my call.

http://freedom-vend.com/warrantee.htm

Thoughts on these questions (and any other advice) would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ben

I am a newbie to the vending business and have been considering starting a honor box business. I've come across a local route for sale on Craigslist and was hoping to get some advice. So far I've only spoken to the gentleman on the phone and will be meeting in person later this week. Here are the details I have so far: