Valuation on locations under contract

WhiteRoom

Hi there, newbie here. This forum has a ton of very helpful information, thank you for that!

There is a lot of talk about putting a value on locations, but I haven't been able to find much related to locations with longer term contracts. Say 3 years plus? My foggy recollection from college would be to discount expected cash flows from each year back to the present, but I was wondering if there was some sort of insider rule of thumb?

I understand that contracts are no guarantee and service will be key in getting those expected cash flows, but a seller is going to want extra for a high grossing account with a long term contract. What's fair?

Thanks!

Generally speaking....you will see most will value locations with equipment at about 8 - 10 months of proven revenue. You may see a little more added if there is a contract that you will be assuming.

I have even seen some people say never offer more then the value of the equipment that you are getting in the sale.....

Travis

Hi there, newbie here. This forum has a ton of very helpful information, thank you for that!

There is a lot of talk about putting a value on locations, but I haven't been able to find much related to locations with longer term contracts. Say 3 years plus? My foggy recollection from college would be to discount expected cash flows from each year back to the present, but I was wondering if there was some sort of insider rule of thumb?

I understand that contracts are no guarantee and service will be key in getting those expected cash flows, but a seller is going to want extra for a high grossing account with a long term contract. What's fair?

Thanks!