Advice for Newbie Starting Off

casey259

As someone who is a newbie here. I have been reading and soaking up a ton of information as I rather have a great initial starting plan versus jumping into the waters without a life jacket of sorts. If you were starting off this venture making it only part-time (servicing on the weekends), what machines and candy would you suggest. Machines being single, double, triple head. On a stand or without? Just gumballs, just candy, or a combination of the two? Any other machines worth noting for a new person? 

Any advice from new people to the pros on here are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I have been changing up my business model lately.  I started with triples and I quickly learned that it wasn't the best choice for every location I had.  For a couple of locations 3 selections wasn't enough, but for most it was overkill.  I'm moving into more doubles with either gumballs or toy capsules and a candy/gumball head.  You have to use your best judgement to decide what's appropriate for each location you get into and the clients may request a specific product.  For candy:  Peanut M&Ms, Mike and Ikes, Skittles and Reese's Pieces are my most commonly filled because they sell well.  I also use Dubble Bubble gumballs and toy capsules for the restaurants and other children-frequented locations.

If I were you, I'd buy either:  AA, Oak or Eagle machines and yes, provide stands.  I don't have any locations with machines sitting on a counter-top, all are freestanding.  Some locations may allow a single to sit on their counter, just make sure you have the suction cups attached to avoid getting the machine knocked off the counter.

Best of luck on your new venture!

This is good info. I have been reading more and more that triples are overkill with doubles being a happy medium. Like you said though its all a out the location. Which locations did best with the triple?