Have you purchased a route before...looking for some advice

vending4528

Route metrics

$187,000 yearly sales consistently over last 4 years

$85,000 net yearly profit, after all expenses, consistently over last 4 years

70 locations

300 Northwestern bulk machine heads

20 cranes

I am looking for opinions on what you would pay for this route? 

Commissions must be very low! Ask to see tax returns and p&l.. Remember that what ever the real net is must be good enough to pay off the purchase cost and your time.

And read some posts these issues are currently being discussed on another thread.

Sounds like a good established route. If numbers are consistent over last 4-6 years I would offer no more than 1.5 times yearly sales or 3 times yearly net profit, whichever is less.  Thru my research this seems to be a fair price for an establish profitable small business.  Since I am new to the business others that have been in this type of business longer can chime in on my evaluation

Good Luck

Well, on a route this size the payment structure could have a significant impact on what I'd be willing to do.

But straight cash?  $75,000-85,000 depending on condition of equipment.  I could go as high as 100-110 depending on multiple factors.

Things come back to supply and demand folks and the problem (for the seller) with most of these routes is that other potentially interested buyers dont have the money and CAN't get financing. If you can buy it out right that is a very big negotiating tool on any route or business. 

Things come back to supply and demand folks and the problem (for the seller) with most of these routes is that other potentially interested buyers dont have the money and CAN't get financing. If you can buy it out right that is a very big negotiating tool on any route or business. 

Bingo.  We tend to forget once you start talking about a route this size there's probably only a handful at most of people who would be both willing and able.