How Full Should They Be?

rjpapageorgio

When I talk to people about how full they keep their machines, I get conflicting reports...  My gut instinct tells me to keep my machines NO more than 50%-60% full for a few reasons...  1) Product stays fresher  2) The machine has the illusion that it is being used on a regular basis (call it psychology 101)   3) Your not tying up your money in inventory.

Anyone else have a differnt take on this?

RJ

how about "petty criminal Psychology 101" if you are only filling up your machines half way then they are sitting there for 4 to 6 weeks appearing to be full of qtrs since there is so much product gone.

this is another reason to run singles with gb only in my opinion, just fill em up

Good point Pusherman, that's why we have these debates... to gain ideas that one person can't think of on their own... to see the other side of the fence.  Since I'm new to vending, I can't comment on theft, but I've heard that it a very small percentage.  Of course location and where you live probably has a lot to do with it.  I imagine a coin operated laundry machine with no supervision would rank higher than a pizza place.

RJ

We tend to keep our machines (all triples btw) about 3/4-7/8 full. A little space to let folks know that others are using it, but full enough to let people know it's being looked after. I have seen lots of machines with less than 1/4 full and I think to myself " I'm not buying from the bottom of an old batch of candy". Just my thoughts and practices here.

Regards,

Philo

There have been some good points made but I would like to throw this out there.

#1  The less you fill up your machine the less money you have invested.

#2  It makes people think the machine is being used.