Honor Box Update

AngryChris

I have been managing my honor box route for over 6 months now.  It has gotten much easier and much less stressful after taking care of several accounts.

I started with roughly 60 accounts.  Out of those, 5 were quickly pulled due to various reasons.  In the first 3 months, I probably pulled 4 boxes due to shortages.  In the past 3 months, I may have pulled another 8 boxes or so due to shortages, slow sales, or other issues such as mice problems.

On my last count, I am left with 42 accounts.  Oddly enough, my gross revenue figures seem to be very similar to what they were when I had about 60 accounts.  This is probably due to providing a better service than the previous guy did.  I have learned that honor boxes are like vending machines in regards to increasing sales via better service.  The difference is that honor boxes can take way longer to increase sales.

Over the past 6 months, I was having issues with 3 problems.  The first problem was obvious -- shortages.  By shortage, I am talking about not having enough money to account for the products that are missing.  The second problem was stale product.  This didn't mean a slow account necessarily... rather, it often meant that I was putting the wrong product in the location or the dates weren't that good when I put it into the account.  The third problem was slow sales.

The first thing I did was I found my accounts with slow sales and I simply pulled the boxes.  We are talking about accounts that do less than $5 per month.  Some of these locations would have 0% shortages but many of them were out of the way, causing time constraints, unnecessary fuel expense, and downright frustration for being so slow (and requiring so much work to service... ie. removing most of the remaining items and replacing them with items with good dates).