USI 3160 display not working

Vendin

Hello all,

I'm brand new to the world of vending, so I apologize in advance if I use any incorrect terminology. I bought a USI 3160 snack machine from a gentleman on Craigslist after I was told that he had used it at a community center 2-3 years ago, but lost the route and the machine has been sitting on his patio since.  He wasn't able to demonstrate the machine for me, because he couldn't get it programmed... but he thought the problem was the bill acceptor, so he gave me another bill acceptor from a different machine to replace it as part of the deal.

Well, as I'm digging in, I've realized that the issue is likely with the display. When I turn the machine on, the display lights up and displays XXXXXXXXX. I go into service mode, with no change to the display (the expected output would be DIAGNOSE, and then be able to key through the menu using the vend keys).

post-9558-0-97698800-1415772008_thumb.jpg

However, I followed the programming logic for a test vend, and got a 3 beep response, which is the expected response for a failed test vend. So from what I can tell, the programming logic is working correctly, but I am not getting a display to correspond. I haven't seen any threads on VENDiscuss for a USI machine, but I did run across a thread for a Rowe 548 with a similar issue (http://vendiscuss.net/index.php?/topic/18627-rowe-548-cold-food-machine/). The consensus there was that it may be the message center, but I'm not quite sure if I can confirm using the same methodology as in that case - a flashing message when turning on the machine. I found the programming manual for the controller, and it doesn't say anything about a flashing message when turning the machine on, or having a XXXXXXXXX message displayed.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Andi