Seaga VC630 not accepting $2 Canadian coins

Kevin C

I am a newbie with vending machines and recently inherited looking after a Seaga VC630 vending machine for a charity organization that was purchased used a couple of years ago. It includes a Coinco 9302-CGX coin changer (Canadian version of the 9302-GX). There had always been complaints that it was keeping some coins $1 and $2 Canadian coins without giving credit. I did some troubleshooting and found the coin changer was broken (physical damage to the acceptor unit) such that it keeps all coins (including rejected ones).

I purchased a used replacement coin changer unit online (same model), installed it, and it worked fine, other than it didn't accept $1 and $2 coins dated after 2011. I made some inquiries and it turns out this is because both coins were redesigned in 2012 and now contain a different metal content and the coin changer needed a firmware update in order to recognize them. Although the replacement coin changer unit is old (manufactured 2009), it appears new, so I suspect it was a spare unit at a vending company that had never bothered to update it.

I had Coin Acceptors make the update, and the changer now accepts all $1 coins, but no $2 coins (before it accepted pre-2012 $2 coins). The positioning of the $2 coin accept switch on the coin changer makes no difference. Neither does the amount of coins in the coin tubes. I checked with Coin Acceptors and they indicated they tested the unit after the update and everything checked out.

To add to this, in the meantime I was able to repair the physical damage to the original coin changer, and am finding it behaves exactly the same as the replacement unit (i.e. accepts all $1 coins, but no $2 coins). This coin changer has a sticker indicating that it had also been previously updated to accept the new $1 and $2 coins.