Just getting started in Georgia. Help!!!

Hello everyone. I'm just getting started in the business here in Georgia and was wondering how necessary it would be to become an LLC right out of the gate as well as what other regulations I would need to be immediately aware of.  The stuff I have come across has been foreign language to me.  My goals of this business venture is to run the business with my son to teach him about the ins and outs of business. money, and responsibility. He is extremely driven and has a very entrepreneurial mentality. We are starting off with 6 bulk candy machines and one snack machine. Any Georgia specific help would be greatly appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your business!  I am in Florida so just general info: the LLC is a legal structure to keep your personal assets and business assets separated; if someone sues your business and prevails, for example, they could attach all of the assets of the LLC to satisfy the judgement, but not your personal assets like your private savings account or personal car.   Any good attorney can help you set up a state specific LLC, but there are some who specialize in doing it and usually charge a lot less.  To be effective and legal you will need to separate your business assets, so the company will need to get a tax ID number and bank account, file a tax return each year (state and federal), etc.  You don't HAVE to have an LLC, you can be a proprietorship or partnership without one if you want, the risk of being sued in vending is fairly low.  You can start as one form of business and switch to another form later as you grow.  You can open a business checking account with your own SS number and file the business taxes with your personal taxes (Schedule C, I think)