Upgrading to MDB for CC usage

Mike4

Newbie here…. Please educate me. 

What is the main difference between upgrading your machines to MDB by using a conversion kit like those offered by capital vending as opposed to using a new INONE board? 

I have an older AP 6600 and AP 113 that I would like to have readers on. 

Also have a few single priced soda machines may want to do something with. 

Mike

51 minutes ago, AngryChris said:

MDB stands for Multi-Drop Bus.  It is a protocol just like USB on computers and it refers to the harnessing/connections used on the machine to connect certain components such as bill acceptors, coin mechs, card readers, and others... just like how you can hook up USB devices to a computer.  There are two ways to have MDB on a machine.  Either the board alerady uses MDB or you have to use a converter to change the signal to MDB.

The converters that capital vending sells simply convert the signal.  Those will have a small box with several wires coming out.  They essentially hijack the 110v coming from your coin mech and the 24v coming from an open plug on the board.  Your logic/pulse components you have connected are now rendered useless and you MUST use the MDB connection coming from the converter to connect all of your components.  You'll have to get an MDB mech and MDB validator and of course your MDB card reader if you want that connected too.  The board is still a 25+ year old board that can't understand much of the new stuff and, due to the way the converter works, the machine can be a little slow with paying out change.  To me, it's like putting lipstick on a pig.