New to the Business

jwh770

Hey, I'm considering joining the bulk candy business and had a few questions that I hope some of you may take the time to answer.

1.Do a majority of the vendors pay a % commission to the businesses where the machines are located or do you mainly go with the charity technique?  I have a locator telling me to offer 30% to the businesses and just wanted to see if that was the norm.

2. Do you have liability/property insurance on the machines?

3.  Are you required to pay sales tax on the sale of your candy?

4.  Do you get a license/permit in each city/county that your machines are located in?

5.  Does anyone know a locator by the name of Dennis Burdick in the mid-west and does he have a good reputation?

6.  Does anyone know Tom Kiernan, a broker for A&A Parkway, and does he provide good service/machines?

Thanks for your responses

I am still fairly new to this myself, but I would recommend spending a little time here reading the posts on the forum, old and new.  There is no time frame you are required to follow to start this business, so don't rush in.

1.  There are a variety of opinions on the charity vs commission.  Some only do commission, some only do charity, and many do both.  I have read that many people start out with charity, and move to commission, and that your more likely to lose a charity location then a commission location.

Now 30% commission, is this gross or net?  Some people like to pay on the net, and not the gross, because they can offer a higher percentage.  When I bought my route, I found out I had 3 30% gross commissions, and wasn't too happy about that.  But 30% gross is doable.  I just don't want to go above 25% gross myself.  (Right now I am only doing candy and this may be different for different types of machines.)