snack machine change hanging up........sometimes

nrpick44

Any idea what would make my quarters hang up sometimes while giving out change? Being a newbie I have no idea. This started last week but i was hoping that it was just a one time thing. Looks like its not.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Your snack machine should have a feature in service mode that allows you to test fire the different tubes so you can empty the mech without removing it. If it's intermittent it could be as simple as a weak or dirty solenoid. Check the manual for directions on how to do it.

First thing I'd suggest is to empty the tube until it's nearly empty, only 2-3 dollars in it. If its the solenoid it should work better without the weight of all the quarters in the tube. Some electronic circuitry spray contact cleaner might help as well but ultimately you will need to replace solenoid by switching it with a known good one or get a replacement mech for it.

If its something else, then emptying the tube should have no impact on the failures and then it's time to start looking at things a little more in depth.

my .02

If its all the time then you likely have a bent coin stuck in the bottom of the tube, if its intermittent then its the solenoid. I'd advise against using WD40 or other lubricant that is petroleum based because the residue will attract dirt and after initially helping over a couple of weeks the problem will get worse.

As previously mentioned, use a electronic contact spray cleaner that dries without leaving a residue. It will only be a temp fix if at all. If its not a bent coin the permanent solution is replacing the solenoid or swapping out mechs.

The mech is the "whole change system thingy"