Curious About Thefts

Michele

I'm a newbie and read some article or blog which stated that one should expect about 4% of one's machines to be stolen per year. Before getting my first machine, I considered chaining it, but then I just bought my first triple and noticed that even if I did chain it, someone could just come along and unscrew the case leaving the post with the chain behind. So, first of all, is the 4% statistic a reality? Does anyone put some sort of security in place to protect the machine on location? Has anyone ever had someone unscrew the case and make off with the coins and candy, but not the base? Just curious...

I never had a one machine get legs and walk. Guess I was just lucky. I've had a couple businesses close but I was able to retrieve it after making some calls.

What you just explained could happen, I guess. It just seems like an aweful lot of work for a thief to go through just to steal a candy machine. They usually like to grab and run. Just my opinion.

I'm a newbie and read some article or blog which stated that one should expect about 4% of one's machines to be stolen per year. Before getting my first machine, I considered chaining it, but then I just bought my first triple and noticed that even if I did chain it, someone could just come along and unscrew the case leaving the post with the chain behind. So, first of all, is the 4% statistic a reality? Does anyone put some sort of security in place to protect the machine on location? Has anyone ever had someone unscrew the case and make off with the coins and candy, but not the base? Just curious...

When I had my 400 gumball and 150 1800's route, I had 1 gumball machine stolen in the 2 yrs. I had it. I would worry to much about it the only thing to worry about would be is as was stated above was when a location closes and you have a hard time trying to retreive you equipment.