Newbie with Questions

jpvending

Hi, I am just starting out. I was planning on only buying a couple machines at a time but the opportunity presented itself for ten new Vendstar 3000 machines for $500 which seemed like too good of a deal to pass up. From my research on here, it sounds like these aren't the best machines but I'm hoping they will at least last for awhile and give me a chance to see if vending is for me. Anyways, on to my questions...

1) I haven't decided yet if I'm going to do charity or commission. If you've decided to do commission - how do you approach store owners? Do you tell them what's in it for them? Do you have a set commission or is that something you negotiate? Etc. A friend owns a pizza place and has had a 2 head machine in there for at least ten years. I asked her about it and she said the guy looked so down on his luck that she let him place it for nothing - but that normally she expects 50% commission. To me that seem crazy high. What percentage IS normal?

2) If I do a charity where you pay for the stickers...for example NCCS...they have a price per machine for 1-5 and then 6-24. Am I better off paying for all 10 of my machines to start with or should I get stickers as I get placements? Maybe do 5 and then 5 later?

3) Is there a general radius you should keep within? I am fairly certain I could place a machine in the breakroom where I used to work but it's about 30 minutes away. Not sure if it's worth the gas. Maybe if I got more in that area?

4) Do you have more success with placements if you take an actual machine with you vs a picture? Someone said it had greater impact when they saw it in person filled with candy. Wondering if that's true. I'm SO bad at sales - anything I can do to minmize my rejections is a good thing. :)

I was proud of myself as I made my first attempt at placement this morning. Of course the manager wasn't there but I left my contact information and will follow up next week.

Thanks!