.25 or .50 Toys...help a new guy out!

davco1

I'm still pretty new to this. I've just begun to add the 1" toys to my fleet of triples and I'm just not sure which ones will sell at .50. I'm limited to selling only product that will vend through a gumball wheel. Are there any toys available that I'm gonna have to leave at .25? Or, will I be ok putting them all in at .50?

What's your competition selling at davco1?

Reason I ask is that one can't simply price every 1" at .50 while your competition at shared locations is still selling at .25.

That would be a recipe for disaster.

If they have their 1" at .25 and you will be at .50, make sure you aren't offering the same toys.

Your lower COG at .50 gives you the flexibility of selling nicer stuff than your competition...you'll have to take advantage of that in order to make it work.

Even then, IMO nicer toys at .50 may still be a hard sell if your competition at shared locations is at .25.

Lots of kids would rather have 2 toys than one.

Even moreso than most adults, kids do not focus on the quality of a product...they're happier focusing on quantity.

If they can get 2 toys for .50 at someone else's machine, they probably will skip yours.

Regarding bounce balls: As stated, whether or not they sell at .50 depends on your competition's price-point.

Even 27mm bouncys?

Unless you can buy them by the case, I would sell them at 50 cents, too. Bouncy balls are heavy and are very expensive to ship. Unless you've got a huge route and split the shipping cost over a very large order, the shipping costs will kill you.