Snacks and Drinks vs. Amusement Vending

bardovending

I am looking to purchase a vending machine route in San Diego.  Since I am relatively new to the business, I originally had snacks and drinks vending in mind.  After contacting several vending operators, however, some suggested that toy and amusement vending gave better cashflow and was easier to service.  I would love to hear some feedback from operators with experience in both.

I am looking to purchase a vending machine route in San Diego.  Since I am relatively new to the business, I originally had snacks and drinks vending in mind.  After contacting several vending operators, however, some suggested that toy and amusement vending gave better cashflow and was easier to service.  I would love to hear some feedback from operators with experience in both.

I'd say that amusement vending would be easier from a cash flow and servicing aspect.  The downside is that locations suitable for amusement equipment would be few and far between versus good snack/soda accounts and I suspect the competition would be stiffer with fewer locations available.

I cant speak for san diego for that is a much bigger area than I live in.

thats the problem with amusements here, unless you plan on opening an arcade of your own 

competition is really intense.

which is why i do snacks and drinks and coffee. alot more targets

Each has its own unique challenges, my suggestion is to take some time and do a lot of research into both and then figure out which works best for you.  Here is a link to our national full line trade association http://www.nama.org/

And the amusement trade association http://www.amoa.com/

If it was me I'd try to find someone nearby that is a member and contact them, maybe do a site visit etc. I suggest a member as they typically are very committed to the industry and generally are helpful to people looking at the business.

• 4 weeks later...

amusement vending is a better biz to part-time your way into