MEI 7000 problem

EdSurly

Do any of you guys use the MEI 7000 changer?  To explain; the changer is located on an ice vending machine.  I got an "OUT OF ORDER" text tonight, after trying to do a remote reset through text didn't work I went to the location.  No out of order was flashing on the display outside but the bill validator lights weren't on.  When I went inside the ice machine everything looked fine, at this point I thought it was an ice machine fault but not seeing anything wrong I took a look at the changer.  The yellow LED next to the "B" tube was lit.  I'm still kinda new to this so I didn't really get what the meaning was.  I removed the cartridge, reset the changer and put the cartridge back but nothing changed.  All the change tubes are filled to the brim except for the two dollar tubes, those are about 2/3 full.  I pull the cartridge back out, reset and again...nothing.  So I manually vend a bag of ice and everything started working fine.  Except this time the yellow "B" LED is flashing and the lcd reads; "tube low".  Like I said, the tube is completely filled to the top.  I pull the cartridge out three more times, resetting it each time and on the last reset I finally get the green light with no fault text on the lcd.

Is this thing crapping out on me?  Do I need to purchase another changer or is there some maintenance I can do?  This changer doesn't see a whole lot of use, the bill validator gets the crap worked out of it but not this changer.  I filled the changer when the machine was put in at the end of August and I haven't had to add any more change to any of them except the dollar tubes.  I vend ice at $2 per so any coins go into the tray, and dollar coins are given as change but quarters, dimes or nickels never get used...at least through this changer.