Commissions and IRS

Plasun

I am a newbie and considering buying a route. The seller currently pays commission to the location owners. It is paid in cash. How would I treat that commission from a tax perspective?

I understand that a 1099 is not customary (the yearly commission to each owner is smaller than $600, which I believe is the lower limit for 1099 to be required). I also understand that it is the location owner's responsibility to report his income, and frankly I could care less if he does. For my own part though, I want to have clean books and be able to face IRS anytime.

Should I report the total gross income and then deduct the commission - or just pretend that the income never existed in my books, i.e. like we split the cash even before I got it in my hands? I heard it is customary to do the latter. In the end IRS would get the same amount from me, so I am not cheating anyone either way, it is just a matter of which way is correct.

If I have to report the full amount, how do I document the deduction for commission? Do I have to ask for receipts every time (won't fly I think) or can I just deduct it based on what the contract says?

For any tax questions use a pro.

They will show you how to report each gross dollar. And how to properly deduct commission ( rent ). And other expense. The IRS works off gross income then deductions just like personal taxes. It's just more complex in a business.