how many bulk machines to go full time?

sweetshelp

Kristi,

Much like yourself I am new in this business as well. I see you've bought a lot of machines. I have doubles and singles. Right now I recently did my first service and am averaging 14 per head. I think the national average is 7 per head. 7 per head less expenses would be a good place to start. I usually see COG(cost of goods sold) on here running around 30% These are just round numbers to get a general idea of where you would need to be. Good luck to you and welcome to the community.

I only do this part time to get extra spending money to support my hobbies. Every one is different, how much do you need to live on each month is something to look at. I have no intention on going full time because I have a good career with a top company right now. Perhaps in 15 years I will do it as a early retirement supplement, but I would need in the area of 300 bulk machines to go full time. With 150 machines placed in decent locations you should gross about $3000 a month. That being $20 per machine average per location. You might want to look at expanding into rack and or full line down the road. My best producer last month was a triple in a very small body shop with maybe 6 or so workers. M&M, BK 1430ct and Reeses', got $31 for the month. I also had a machine doing $12-$15 monthly average drop to .25. So there are ups and downs.

Hello, check this thread out http://www.vendiscuss.com/forums/view_topic.php?id=2535&forum_id=1

This covers what you were talking about with trying to go full time, and you can work out a formula by plugging in what you want to make play with the variables and come up how many heads and locations you need to make full-time.  I used $100,000 per year net as my example.

I think it depends on the model you pursue - singles, doubles, charity, commission, racks, cranes, amusement, etc.

IMO, to go full time you need...

1000+ single head gumball charity locations or