You guessed it, I'm new to vending =)

VAVending

Hey y'all!

I've been browsing the forums for the last couple weeks and let me first say, this place is a goldmine of information that should be frequented by anyone who does any manner of vending. You can't beat experience as a teaching tool, but the experience of others who have gone before you is a decent second.

As mentioned in the title of this post, I am new to vending. As in under two months into vending. I have yet to place my first machine, but I've been doing a lot of research on vending as a business. I first became interested due to the recommendation of a friend who picked up a Dr. Pepper/Snapple route for a song on craigslist. It's completely franchise, and every one of his 10 machines is placed in a Walmart. Since then I've come to realize he got a pretty good deal. He knew I was looking for something to supplement the work I do, so he said to contact my local bottlers and ask about underperforming routes and such.  I did, and quickly found out that things aren't quite as simple as they seem at first. It seems the Big 3 (Pepsi, Coke, Dr. Pepper) are less interested in selling routes, and more interested in having people build routes for them. And their placement requirements are a tad steep (100+ employees, etc.)

I've made some good contacts with local businesses and local vending machine suppliers who are willing to sell off old machines. And my salesmanship skills have increased tremendously, commensurate with the number of "no" or "maybe we'll call you" that I've gotten. I don't have any money in the game yet, and I'm still floating around the idea of just going Bulk.

So that's me so far. If my intro brings any tips to mind, feel free to share them.

Looking forward to growing with y'all,

Benjamin

• 10 months later...