Buying a Route, Is it a good deal?

I am buying a 10 machine route from a friend. It nets roughly $1,000 a month and I am purchasing them for a total of $18,000. $400 in change and about $100 dollars in product included. He paid $36,000 for the machines.

No money down, I just have to pay him 50% of profits per month until its paid off. The machines are 1 year old and under a 50% warranty for 6 more years. 2 machines are not in use, so there is room for more profit.

I'm a college student, so I won't be relying on the income to live.

Does this sound like a good deal?

If all 10 machines together nets a total of $1,000  How has he managed to pay off $18000 of the loan in 1yr?

If each machine is netting $1,000 EACH a month, then why is he selling it?  

If a location boots you out, do you have the resources to move the machines out asap?

Those are the things I would be wondering.  Even if the seller was my best friend.

Sorry to say, but something just isn't adding up.  Something seems fishy to me.  

Ahhh, well since he is moving away, that clears up some questions and wonderings.  I am new to the Full line of things, but what little I know, if that case presented itself, I think I might actually have to consider it.  But I would still wonder about a lot of things though.

It was a loan from his uncle. It is not paid off yet, but I will not be dealing with any banks or creditors. He is going to be paying him off with the 50% a month I give him, as well as the money he will be making in his new job. He will be in a 100k+ job so money wont be a problem for him.

For relatively new equipment with extended warranty and locations and easy financing terms it's something I'd look at very hard. Just make sure that if you proceed that EVERYTHING is in writing so there will be no misunderstandings a year from now. Especially with a friendship involved.

my .02