Timesavers and other tips for servicing your route?

brendamca

I'd love to be able to afford remote monitoring, and get away with one walk-up instead of two per location, but since I'm just getting started, that's a long way off. Since I'll only be doing my business on the side, I need to be able to service as many locations in one day as I possibly can.

What low-tech or cheap-tech methods do you use for saving time on your route? Do you use an Excel spreadsheet on your phone or a netbook to track inventory and record your cash? Anything else that's simple but efficient and saves you oodles of time?

All my machines are outside, so my vehicle is right there.

But so I am not moving product around to get to other product, I have a "red neck" method that I use. 

I have a home made chart on a clip board of each item I stock, sorta like an inventory sheet.  I mark how many of each item that I stocked.  When loading up the vehicle,  I go by what was sold the week before and throw in 2 of each item extra in.

If I have to short a machine a drink or two, I will note that on my list so I know to take a few more next time.

I don't have any snack machines so I'm not sure how well my method would work for the snacks.