Estimating cost of goods per vend

shepherdsflock

I use a scale. I set the machine up and do 5 vends of the product, then weigh it out and divide by 5. This way I have a good idea of the cost and profit per vend. I am new and still learning but so far I like weighing the canisters before and after service so I know how many vends are on each candy. I bought the scale at a local store. It is a food scale that costs $29. Capacity is 11 lb and it reads to 0.1 oz accurately. A quarter weighs 0.2 oz so I also use it to count my money.

Funny, as a metrologist by trade, my mind immediately starts wondering about the repeatability of the scale and all of the statistical trials you could perform on the scale. Funny how your day job can invade the very way you think about everything.

$29 for the scale, huh? I wonder if I could pick one up used on craiglist or something fairly cheap.

Without having a scale to measure the weight of the prodcut being dispensed, what would be a good way to estimate the cost of goods per vend on Vendstar machine?

Are you asking about the cost of goods, or how many ounces you are vending per vend? Since you mentioned weighing the candy, I assume you want to know how many pieces to vend, and to calculate that cost of goods.

One option is to buy small bags of the candy, like the kind they sell in the stores. M&M's and Skittles will be easy. Not so easy with runts though because I never see those in snack size bags. The label will tell you how many ounces there are in the bag, and then you can just count out the number of pieces per ounce. Typically, a 1/2 oz - 1/3 oz per vend is my standard.

Other than weighing how much is vended, I can't think of any other good way to calculate the cost. But, your idea about counting the pieces in a smaller package to calculate the pieces per ounce is a really good idea. Thanks!