Do These Numbers Make Sense?

MintiFresh

Thanks for all the honesty and support on the forum -- I'm very new to vending and have been pouring over your posts. This is by far the best resource I've found.

I've done a bit of math and have decided to start out with one soda machine, vending cans. That seems to be the cheapest and easiest-to-handle machine that would give the ROI I'm looking for. I'm starting out as a sole proprietorship and without liability insurance (if that's legal?), to keep costs low.

Would you guys please double check my numbers?

Total Investment: $1K

Machine & Delivery: $750

Soda ($10/32-pack x 16 pack: $160

Handtruck (> 250 lbs capacity): $75

Biz Registration*: $10

*Registration cost: In my city/state (northern Virginia), biz licensing seems to be very cheap as long as you stick to a sole proprietership and you bring in money below a certain thresh-hold (a fairly high one that I won't meet). If you guys know of anything I need to pay besides the licensing fee with the city clerk, though, please share -- I'd really appreciate it.

Goal: 200 vends/wk (@ $0.75 price point) --> $150/wk gross

Replacement Product: ($70/wk)

Tax: ($21.20/wk self-employment tax + $15/wk income tax = $26.20/wk)

Net: $54/wk - CoS*

ROI: 7.5 mo // earn back initial investment + 13.5% return by end of 1st yr

*Keep CoS $20 < x < $24

I have a number of soda machines and only the best ones do $600 per month. My average is closer to $400 a month - still not bad. I service every other week so I make $100 per visit on average which works for me. Sodas are a lot easier to do than the snack machines but don't allow as much room to get creative which separates me from the competition hopefully. IMHO a soda machine is the only way to go if you're just getting started - you'd need at least 4 snack machines to control your stales (a problem you won't have with cans). Make sure you get a multipriced machine - Royal, Vendo or Dixie with at least a 500 can capacity.