250 location route

Ckane

Hey guys Im new to the vending world and looking to purchase a route with 250 locations total 84 locations are bulk toys and the remaining are bulk candy... the purchase also includes 150 machines not placed on location all candy machines are 1-800s and the bulk toys are oak/A&A global machines. the gross on both routes are $7200per month and the net is $3500 the asking price he is asking is a huge 100K im meeting with him tomorrow to get in the paper work to back these numbers. can anyone help me determine if this asking price is anywhere close to what its worth?? 

any feed back is GREATLY appreciated.

I would only value it around 78K myself - but would need to see the machine t see what shape they are in

is there any racks ?

yes there is a lot of racks from what I understand ill know tomorrow on the exact number. 

you will need to figure also - ie gas, travel time etc

3500 net seems pretty low for that size of a route looks like his cogs is high.  you may be able lower them a bit.

even if you cleared 3500 a month - it will still take over 2 year to get your ROI back

Sounds like a good opportunity.  I am sure he is throwing out a big first number since he knows negotiations will bring the number down to what he really thinks he should get for the business.  Go out and physically work the route with him and get a good idea of what the route is like.  Easiest way to expand is to buy existing routes and improve them (in my opinion).

I say it's worth 40-45k. 30k for the ones that are placed and 10k for the unplaced machines. Any more than that and you are overpaying. Also ask to see his tax return as was stated otherwise walk away immediately. At that point he is just blowing smoke.