DEX data

tallguy

I'm curious about downloading DEX data.  Since I'm just starting out its a topic that is a little bit advanced for me.  Still I'd like to know more about it if I decide to do it as I grow.  I've searched this forum and haven't found anything (maybe I'm looking in the wrong place).  

My distributor told me that all machines have a jack on them.  You can just plug a handheld device into it and it will automatically download all the data on sales, errors and everything else.  He told me the handheld cost about $500 and the software to run it cost $100 a month for the first 100 machines and $1/machine after that.  

The handheld doesn't seem that expensive.  The software does.  My understanding is that it is just a text file.  I have programming experience and could probably write my own quick code to parse out the stats I need the most.  I'm also curious as to whether there is anything where I don't even need to buy a handheld.  It seems like somebody somewhere should have written an app so that I could get it straight onto an iPad or a droid. 

Does anybody use DEX data?  What are your experiences with it? 

Your distributor might be wrong as only newer or upgraded machines can give you dex data, but from the fees he's describing he might be talking about aftermarket data ports or card reader interfaces that can extract dex data. With those devices you have to subscribe to a proprietary service that sends you the data in their format. Some providers might tailor the info for you but most won't.

Newer machines with control boards can export dex data through a phono jack or other cable to a dex handheld. You then dump the handheld and deal with the raw info. This info is even available from some Coinco single price mechs that have the multi-harness that includes the dex phono jack.