Gaines VM750 and ICT P70 Bill Acceptor

Greetings.  I have done some searching on this site, and have not found any results on my topic, so I am hoping somebody can help.  

I am working on a Gaines VM750 vending machine, with an ICT P70 bill acceptor.  The vending machine had this model of bill acceptor in it, but it has failed.   I ordered a new P70 bill acceptor, but I cannot get it to function properly.  I believe the issue is with the dip switch settings on the bill acceptor itself.  

I have the bill acceptor dip switches set to the defaults according to the instructions sent.

When you put a bill in it, it takes the bill, but it does not count the money in the credit counter (pardon my terminology, I am new to this vending machine subject).  If you put in coins, it counts the coins, but if you put in bills, it does not count the bills.

I fear that the board that the bill acceptor plugs into may be malfunctioning as well, but I hope that is not the case.

I have spent a few hours aimlessly searching the web for into on the Gaines Vending machine, but have had no luck...until I found this site.

I would greatly appreciate any information.

Thank you.

Welcome to the forum.  I'm afraid the lack of information found on the internet for Gaines machines is a sign of the lack of support for this poorly made imported machine.  I do hope you make your money back before it becomes difficult to keep it running.

As to the ICT acceptor, if your old P70 performed the same as your new P70 does now and they are identical units, and if your old P70 had worked at some time in the past, and if you know what the old switch settings were that worked before the failure, and if those settings don't work with the new P70, then you probably have a bad logic board.  You can see that there are many variables to consider before you can determine where the issue lies.