My son's first vendor

Vendo Mike

My son is about to turn 12 and I'd like him to get a better understanding of how business works in it's basic form.  My initial thought is to purchase him a gumball/toy machine and help him find a nearby account that he can maintain and earn a couple bucks on.  I've been a vending tech for about 20 years but have never been involved with bulk candy. I'm thinking a good used machine would give him an opportunity to rebuild/repair as necessary and understand how it works and the importance of maintaining it.  I would appreciate feedback on the following questions if you all don't mind. 

1)  Can anyone give any insight into some does/don'ts for bulk vending?

2)  I am considering leaning him toward vending the small toys rather than unwrapped gum/candy due to covid.  Can anyone point me to the best place to find inventory?

3)  Can anyone tell me what a dependable used machine brand would be and how much I should expect to pay for it?

Any other insights I'm not thinking of?