Inflation: How are you handling it? (Kind of a rant)

Vend Attend

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to jump on here and see how everyone is handling these insane price increases. I know the general rule is to 2x your product cost, however, I am finding that candy will need to be priced at 1.75 and pop at 2.50 a bottle for 20oz. 

What are you doing to combat this? Are you switching from 20 oz to 16.9oz? Are you lowering your prices to stay competitive? 

I spoke with a couple vendors in my area and they said they are still at 1.25 for a candy bar but since the prices are now .88 cents cost, they are thinking about going to 1.50. Am I insane for charging 1.75 for candy bars? The stores and gas stations in our area sell them for 2.25.

In addition to all of this, our chips are now priced at 1.25.

Bottom line, I just wanted to get an idea of what everyone else is doing and trying to not lose any accounts in the process of increasing prices.

I’m a small operator with only one route. About 80 machines at 40 locations. 
I just raised all my prices and sales are still the same. 
LSS chips 1.50

12oz cans 1.25

16.9oz bottles 1.75

Energy drinks 3.00

candy 1.50

Pastries 1.50

Basically everything up .25. This made a huge difference to my bottom line. 

I've raised prices at many locations twice this year.  In the past, I always made smaller margins with candy compared to everything else.  I made up for it with cookies, pastries, and can soda.  But now can soda and pastries have gotten such huge increases in cost, even after increasing prices, I'm no longer seeing those benefits.  The only solution is to raise prices everywhere.  I have added higher priced items which helps and I have considered 16.9 oz for years.  It would require more hustling but with higher margins.  My concern is that it will bite me down the road if I get bigger and have to switch back to 20 oz and see an uproar over prices.

12 hours ago, allen watson said: