What type of vehicle do you use for vending?

s.weir

Hello,

I was just wondering what everyone uses for vehicles.  Next year I will just be using my car to run my combo (beverage and snacks) machines route, but soon I will probably have to get a van in order to carry around enough inventory for my weekly route run.  At what point should I buy a vehicle solely for my route?  I am thinking probably at about 20 machines if not before.  I have pretty good locations so they require weekly restocking, plus I am constantly expanding so.

Scott

honda civic lol I just started and yes it sucks.  I had cans to the roof in my car and on my initial fill they fell on top of me while driving.  I am a college student so have to use what I have so far.  The initial fill is the hardest but after that I dont carry as much and just make sure my stops stay filled.  One of my locations is pretty slow though and really only needs servicing once a month.

I worked out of a Ford Ranger with a camper top to start with. When I started doing about 5k/month I had to move up. I'm using a step van now (retired Postal Service vehicle, about 14 foot). I absolutely love it. It is soooo much more efficient and easy to work out of. I highly recommend step vans. They are great in inclement weather, and quick to get in and out of. Mine has a 1600 lb lift gate on the back, but I rarely use it because it is so easy to load anyway.

I just use my personal vehicle, a Chevy 1/2 ton extended cab pick up with a camper shell.  Not ideal but gets the job done.  I just got going last year too so I am just using what I have and luckily it hauls everything I need.  Only bad thing is I have to crawl in sometimes to get product.  Other than that plenty of payload.

Get a good quality vehicle that will meet your projected needs for 2-3 years. If it not a commercial vehicle designed for the kind of loads you will have the suspension will be shot by then.