Candyman Vending

spdydre

Well I figured I since I just started full line I would post up thread to let people know the downs and ups of the business and realistic expectations.  I have been a member for months but studied this business through the forums for about 7 months and picked up alot of information before I decided to take the plunge.  I am currently a college student in Houston,Texas and my plans are to build this into a full time business by May 2011.  I first began by contacting Coke,Pepsi and Dr. Pepper to try and set up an account for 3rd party vending since my budget is limited.  Coke and Pepsi did not work out but I was able to get my account set up with Dr. Pepper.  Initially the told me I could have cans or bottle machines just call them with the location info and purchase a 20 case minimum per machine a month.  I posted ads in craigslist for vending service and received one location but it was 45 miles away :-[  I went business to business but wasnt having any luck so I decided to try a locator.  I went ahead purchased a can machine on location from Eddie Bauer for $900.  This is a truck customizing shop that has no a/c so it looked promising.  The machine wasnt set up so I had to get flavor labels, set the pricing for cans and load the machine.  I didnt know how to do any of this and this process took me 3 hours lol.  Once I got everything loaded the coin mech wouldnt give change from the  $.10 slot and kept jamming.  I didnt want the machine to be down on location so  I found a local coin mech fixer and purchased a refurbished coin mech for $100 and he taught me how to install it at his shop.  I went back and installed the new coin mech only to have the owner tell me he wants a bill validator installed asap.  I didnt know how to install one so I called a tech to come out the next day and he never showed up.  Frustrated I went back to the coin mech shop picked up a mars refurbished validator for $75 asked the old man what to do and went back to