Demanding Clients

Mike32110

So I am new to the business, and was looking for general advice on dealing with demanding clients. I will admit that I have found the customer service aspect of this job to be difficult, as I have a pretty respected full time job and am shocked at how different people talk to a vending machine oeprator. However, I changed a coin-mech on a machine that was giving issues, and didn't click it back together perfectly, so change started jamming not soon after I left. I got a call (woke me up) the next morning from the woman who deals with the machines who said quite rudely "you need to get down here right now and fix this machine". It just so happened that this was on my birthday, and I ended up going down there to fix it, gave the woman some extra chips. Since then, i haven't had any issues with her and she has been quite friendly (I give her a product everytime I stock the machine). I was just wondering how you guys deal with situations like this?

Generally, I would think that if I service the machine's weekly, they should just put up an OUT OF ORDER sign and I would just lose sales in the meantime. The sales are only 60 per week, so it's not worth my time to go out there for it. What do you guys think?

You run into all types of people in this buisness. Some people have a more polite way of handling things than others. Some people are just jerks. Don't take it personally.

That being said, if you are going to provide a service to a customer they should be able to expect that you are going to make every effort to correct a problem promptly. Most of my accounts wouldnt be to happy if I told them just to put up a sign and ill get there whenever I get there.

A $60 / week account isn't a great account but maybe you can go every 2 weeks and pull $120 at once?