Frozen Food Vending

Yummy Vending

Hello,

I am a newbie in the vending business and have a question for you guys. Have a nursing home account with 3 machines, a can, glass-front bottle, and a 4 wide snack machine. Account runs about $700/Wk in sales with 240 folks on staff. There is no restaurant within 10 miles of location and they only get 30 mins for lunch. They are screaming for us to add a frozen food machine. Given the above mentioned circumstances, would like some opinions, pros/cons of adding this machine. Thanks, John - Yummy Vending

I have similar accounts and wouldn’t add a frozen machine. With that said who is "screaming" for the frozen machine? If it is just employees and not the decision maker then I wouldn’t do it but if it is dependent on you possibly loosing the account then that is a different story that will need to be addressed. People are always asking for extra vending equipment like frozen, cold food, coffee, etc that is not justified in accounts. It has to make sense to put this type of equipment in or you will have more trouble than it is worth.

I have a possible solution for you. Add another snack machine or take stuff that is not selling out of the existing machine and trial run shelf stable foods such as microwavable soups and stews and things of that type. Explain to them that if that sells then you will look at possibly adding a cold food or frozen machine.

I just added a second snack machine to one of my bigger locations for shelf stable foods and things are going well. I already had the machine in my warehouse it was an older machine that I would not have placed in a new account, ( And I explained that to them) but because I have been there for several years they liked the idea. 

So rather than saying NO you can give it a trial run without a lot of capital outlay.