Route purchase opportunity

SeaGypsy

I'm just getting started and have a line on a bulk route near my home.  Included are 34 located  1800 triple machines.  The asking prices is $5500 and the seller isn't real motivated from what I can tell.  The price seems high compared to what I've read int he posts here.   They are also ready to be serviced.   I'm calculating that a fair price would be closer to $3500.  Any comments or experience?

Stephanie

Welcome Stephanie.  Any comments I would have for you would be based on the monthly gross of the route, whether it's 100% candy or if he's doing GB/toys and if it's commission or charity based.  Without that, there's really nothing to compare your $5500 and $3500 figures.

Best of luck with it!

FWIW

I would question that gross amount. thats over $26 month per stop, not likely, unless he has good documentation I would not believe it.

As for your offer of $3500 thats too high.

I would start at $2000 and go up from there.

at $2500 top end thats $73 per stop, worst case you can get most of your money back in equipment if the locations bomb.

Thats been my rule of thumb so far and its worked out pretty good.

I just bought a small route and paid $60 per location and thats was high for me, I have paid as little as 40-50 per stop

Sweetstop and I are usually on the same page so take this with a grain of salt - I may be having an off day.  I have paid as little as 1.5 months gross for a stop, but generally they are worth far more than that.  I also disagree that $26/month is unlikely.  If a candy vendor has properly culled his/her route as they've grown $26 is easily attainable.  I average over $42/loc with my candy stops, but I also know that's not the norm. You would definitely want to run the route with the existing vendor to verify numbers.