Royal vendors machine taking dollar bills and not dispensing product

Hi, I'm new to vending and bought a machine to put at my buddys shop. He just called and said the machine is taking dollars, returning a quarter (drinks are .75), and will not dispense a drink. The coin mech will not accept any change and returns any that is tried. The machine was working fine before this. Has a refurbished coin mech and dollar bill validator I purchased off ebay. What could be causing this problem? Tried using the search feature and the only similar problems I found were machines not accepting ANY money, But none that accepted dollars and not any coins and did not dispense a drink. It is an older Royal Vendors machine with can drinks. Thanks in advance for any help.

If this is repeatable, with the machine continuing to take bills and pay change without vending, it sounds like it's a single price machine with no credit display. If you have a credit display then the machine has a logic board and and is multiprice.

If it's single price then your issue could be a bad coin mech, a bad credit relay (doubtful) or a motor switch issue.

If it's a multiprice then you could have a bad or mis-adjusted drop sensor, a bad board or a blown fuse. The fuse holder is right below where the coin mech plugs into the machine. Push in and up to open the fuseholder and inspect the fuse that is closest to the front of the door. There may be a second fuse but it's a spare. If your fuse is blown and there is a spare, you're in luck. If the fjse isn't blown then you next need to adjust the drop sensor. You'll need to post your model number an preferrably the version of your logic board for additional help.

I will get the model number Monday, I know that's pretty bad that I don't even know the model number but I'm very new to all this. I do know that it has a coinco ba30b validator and a trc-6800 coin mech if that helps any.