Raising my overall average

lowcountry Dan

I have been vending candy for about 4 1/2 years. It has been a struggle, but I have stuck with it.  I use Vendstars, but I keep them in good shape. What has been a vexing problem for me is my overall average is only about $12.00 per machine per month.  I took a hit losing some decent locations and it's hurting my bottom line. 

Here is what I am doing: I service my machines on a regular basis, keep them clean, and ask my customers if they want different candy. I feel like I am doing everything right, but business is just bad.  I am realistic. i think i should shoot for $15 on average, then shoot for $20. per machine, per month. 

My conclusions are this: either candy is dead or this is just a bad market for it. I don't think i will add any more candy machine and will go to BB's or 1" capsules.   

As you may know, it's hard to take when you feel like you are doing a good job, but results aren't there. Does anyone have any tips on how I might raise my average? Maybe I am missing something in what I am doing. 

Thanks for your time. 

lowcountry dan

Makes Cents hit the nail on the head.

If you are "averaging" $12 that means some of those triples are earning only a few dollars a month.

Get those into a place that merits 3 selections.

On a side note: you don't have to pull out of ALL of those low earners.

If you do charity, a charity gumball single may do fine in some of those low earners....you may find they pull $12 per month just as your triples did.

But either way, get those triples in some better homes if they are averaging less than $12 per month.