Possible Siphoning Theft?

bbar97

Hey guys, I just joined this forum so its nice to meet you all. So I'm a college student and I currently own one toy vending machine that does 2" capsules for .50. I had it in my apartment for about a year because I just couldn't build up the courage to go locate it until a couple months ago. So now its in a mexican resturant and has been doing what I think is pretty decent. I check it every 2 weeks and it averages about $14 every two weeks but one time I got $30 so it varies a good bit. Last week I didn't have a chance to check it so I checked it today (3 weeks since last check) and it had a lot less quarters than I expected. How likely is it that someone in the restaurant (either owner, manager, or employee) has purchased a key and is stealing from it? Aren't the keys and locks for the machines very generic? I'm new to this so sorry if these are stupid questions. Also how much income is average for a .50 capsule machine per month? 

Thanks guys!

While it's not impossible, I would say it's pretty unlikely that the restaurant is messing with you. Whenever I get "unusually low" totals, the first thing I start looking for are mechanical issues with the machine- is the mech or wheel setup giving out free product? Is it jammed in such a way that it's not completing sales? Is there something cosmetically wrong with the machine that might turn away customers? There's a lot of possible reasons a machine might not do well.

After that, I check records. A jump or dive in totals isn't uncommon for a lot of locations- I have some accounts that do terrible part of the year, and great at other times. Some accounts I have hold special events which lead to jumps in sales, and other times when they might be closed more or have other things going on that decreases your sale opportunities.