Intermittent Change Return Issue

RaleighNC

Hi All - long time lurker, first time poster. I’m somewhat new to the vending world and have enjoyed reading the various discussions here!

I’m having an issue with a Crane Frozen 460/960 machine (two machines connected with one tower) where I’ll get a call that someone put $5 into the machine, got their $2.50 item, but didn’t get their $2.50 change. It seems to happen randomly and of course I can’t replicate the issue when I’m there. It’s an MEI CF-7000 series mech. MEI Validator although I suspect this isn’t the problem since it properly credits the correct amount. I’ve tried unplugging and plugging back in and checking for jams or stuck tubes by hitting the button to release coins and it always does. Doesn’t appear to be coins that are stacked incorrectly either. 

Is there something I should be checking or testing here? Ready to just swap the whole thing but wanted to see if there were any ideas first about things to clean or check or reset that may solve it. 

Thanks!

3 minutes ago, cvending said:

When it bends, does it payout any change?

Yes, it seems like the majority of the time it does or else I would probably be getting a lot more calls. Every time I test it seems to work fine too. The common theme seems to be when you use a $5 bill and get something that’s $2.50, people don’t get their $2.50 change back. I’ve heard the issue on a few different items so it’s not like it’s just one specific lane. I’ve also confirmed the pricing is correct at $2.50 so it definitely should be giving change when a $5 bill is used. 

4 minutes ago, Vendo Mike said:

Do you have "multi-vend" or something turned on that would cause the board to hold credit for a period beyond the first vend?  In V21's, any credit held for multivend times out in about 30 seconds of inactivity to pay change and ready for the next vend.