LCM4 selected vend motor moves slightly, then stops without vending.

keithn

Hi all, I am a newcomer to vending machines, but I am a retired professional electronics engineer, with over 50 years experience in analog, digital & embedded micro-electronics such as this vending controller. I am trying to help the owners of this machine (made in 1997) to try and get it working. The machine has been working for years with no issues, until now.

The problem is that when a selection is made in test vend mode, the selected motor moves fractionally, but does not complete the cycle by turning a complete revolution and the vend fails. If I put the machine into Diagnostic Vend Test (mode button press followed by #6) it sequentially moves each motor present in the configuration, but only slightly as described above, however it passes the test and only fails on the ones that are not present in the configuration and so no motor is fitted. The machine is configures as 2 rows of 6 then 1 row of 10 snack items on rows A,B & C and 2 rows of cans on G & H

I have tried setting the machine to free vend and individual dispensers to free vend, but nothing works.

I now have the control board with just 1 motor (wired to position A1) on my test bench and can confirm that when it is selected during a test vend, the motor is driven for precisely 100mS before stopping. I am guessing that a full vend would require the motor to run for about a second or so.

Can anyone think of any reason why the vend motor time is being cut short, other than a control board fault?

I would appreciate any help or advice on any suggestions for other tests I could try?

Many Thanks,

Keith