Threat of foreclosure, how to get rid of non paying tenents???

Rustinm

Ok, Im going to rant and rave AND ask a question! My mom has a house that she has been renting out for the past 12 months. The problem is that the renters are worthless peices of (*%^*$&*(%^(*&. You get the idea, they have not paid on time once. Now their lease expired 2 months ago, at which point they still owed 850$. Now two months later they still havnt payed a penny and if they dont leave before november my mom will lose the house to foreclosure. I am supposed to be moving in as soon as they move out but how the hell do we get them out before we lose the house? We have given them the legal notifications and we will be able to offically file eviction on wednesday, but of couse here in michigan the law is completly against the landlord and we are afraid that we will lose the house before the squatters, opps i mean tenents leave. What do we do???

Rustin,  I am not a lawyer nor should you take this as legal advice as I am not extremely familiar with Michigan law.  As long as your mom has filed the paperwork needed ( given them adequate notice, eviction notice, etc) it is a waiting game.  They should have been given a notice to "pay by such-n-such a date" and if no payment was received then file eviction papers.  DO NOT take partial payments as this could hurt you if it needs to be taken to court which may end up happening here.  I  urge your mother to contact an attorney and I wish you all the best.

Foreclosure has ZERO to do with renting the house!

The bank doesn't care if there are tenants in there or not. Just pay the mortgage, and it won't be foreclosed on.

I have rental properties, and let me tell you this: 95% of landlords are NOT cut out to be landlords! Thats why you are getting screwed now!

You should have kicked them out the second time they were late! Once that pattern starts, YOU are the bottom of the list when it comes to their money!