Possible route to buy. please give opinions

s.weir

Hey everyone,

So there is a route I am looking at buying it has the following characteristics:

3 locations owned by the same company

10 machines-combo's and coffee

10% commission to business for coffee

15% for chips, pop etc.

$4500-$5000 profit per month (English wasn't his first language I don't think so I didn't really understand if this is after commission and after buying product, therefor making the real profits more like 60%ish of these figures)

He is asking $35 000 for all of them and I must say if I can get financial records and some sort of agreement to pay him back over the course of like a year I think I will go for it.  What do you guys think?

I am no expert but this is my opinion.

You should try to find out as much as you can about this route.  Your talking about a lot of money here.  Obviously the 4500-5000 numbers would be more like gross sales.  For 10 machines, thats around 400-500 gross sales/machine.  It would be important to somehow makesure these machines are pulling in this much because thats a good amount/machine. 

Good rule of thumb to go by is to buy a route that would pay for itself in 1 year time of gross sales.  Seems like from what I am reading it would.  If these numbers are right, I would go for it.  But again this only involves 3 locations so its important to find out these numbers for sure.  What if somehow 1 location was bad or something in this deal,  thats going to cost you  a lot.

Also I would find out if these locations have contracts and check to see how the locations are and all that stuff.

what worries me is, why is he REALLY selling? that's a lot of money. if he just doesn't want to do it anymore he could pay someone a small wage to run the route for him. there has to be some other reason.