Price increase mini rant

I don't know about the rest of you, but I get bothered by price increases. Customers aren't the only reason, but the physical act is another.

One of the customers I acquired was all upset with their previous vendorwho sold out. This account had an abandoned/broken royal can machine, a national 146, and a nice vendo 540.  I told them in October that I could fix everything and remove the can machine but I'd have to raise all prices. Wouldn't you know... I raised soda to $1.40 and a few are acting like I'm a con artist. I'm really not upset because I could cancel or lost this account without batting an eye, but I am disappointed that people are fine with paying $1.70+ at the store for the same product but want to try to get personal with me about the price out of the machine.

This has and always will be a issue in vending. Customers don't care about our cost increases and never bat an eye when prices go up in a C store. This is one reason micro markets are getting so popular. But MM will never replace all traditional vending. 

I've been quietly going up on a bunch of my items.  No one has said much yet, but in my part of the country, cost of living is low so my costs are pretty reasonable.  I'm mainly doing it in accounts that are somewhat slow, ones I'm not worried about potentially losing, and ones that I know no one would go in if they called on someone else.

We can be our own worst enemies on pricing sometimes; new vendors and hobby operators bidding prices too low with accounts for example.  It seems like everyone is afraid one of these small little accounts will get upset.... I have lost one account in 6 years because of price increases, and I don't miss it, it was out of the way, small, and seasonal... hope whoever got it is not losing too much money!