allegiant120

How many no answers do you get vs yes

Im just starting trying to place a few honor boxes im recieving a lot of no answers. Out of asking 20 I probably have 4 yes. What approach tips could you recommend? Thanks

What type of honor box are you placing?  Lollipop/mint boxes or Honor Snack trays?  I have been doing Honor Snacks for about 25 years and I can tell you that 1 in 5 placed is about average.  You are not going to walk into 10 businesses and place 10 snack trays.  You will need to hit 40-50 businesses to get 10 snack trays placed.  That is something that I "Hammer" into my sales reps heads when I hire them.  It's a numbers game, and the more accounts you call on, the better your odds of placing a box.

Just be pleasant, always greet the customer with a smile, and introduce your service to them.  Be honest, but be brief.  Keep your presentation simple.  Don't go into long, drawn out explanations on how the honor system works.  "We place the box at no charge to you.  All we ask is that you put your $1 (or $1.25, whatever your price is) in the coin box for each item that you take."  Quick and simple.  :)

4 out of 20 is not bad at all.  I have found that  to be about my average.  Sometimes I will get 7 or 8 no's in a row.  Then there are times I will get 6 or 7 yes's in a row.  All depends on where you are.  Flint is right, it's a numbers game.  I don't look at getting turned down as a negative, I take as getting to mark off a location off my bucket list and just move on to the next one.  And as Flint will also tell you, keep a mental note because you may go back in 6-9 months to those same locations and turn some of those no's into yes's.

I agree totally with these guys. Listen to what they say, they do this really,really well.

Every day is different for me honestly. Some days it’s 7/10, some days it’s 1/10. I’d say my current average is 5/10 though.

For some tips on what to say, I reposted Flint’s, Bryan's and my placement scripts/tips here: