8 head U-Turn good deal?

BrandNewbie

Hi everyone!

I’m new to the idea of vending, and new to this forum so I’m very excitied to be here. After lurking around for a few days I think I found a good buy so I’m itching to jump in and hoping somebody will be able to offer advice on a deal offered to me. 

Is $50 for an 8 head uturn a good deal if everything is in working order/no cracks, scratches, etc? With keys/lock included?

Also, if anybody knows about these machines, are they able to dispense gumballs?

I was going to purchase a few vendstars from eBay but that fell through so I’m thinking that maybe the uturn thing is what was meant to happen? Thoughts on either machine?

The area I live in is pretty eclectic and always being developed so the plan is to start out with a couple bulk candy machines then start a few honor boxes before going with atms and combo drink snack machines. I may be posting for advice here a LOT.

But you guys put out a lot of great information and I couldn’t have pieced together a vision together without content from this site so thanks!! 

I have not had any experience with a U-Turn but have seen many people on here talking about them. 

The biggest problems I have read about are:

-You need to completely disassemble a U-Turn to service the machine and finding a space to put 8 canisters without putting them on the floor is a challenge.

-plastic mechanisms

-too many selections for the majority of locations so product spoils (most locations need 2 or 3 selections)

VendStars are an all plastic machine so sun fading makes them yellow and look tacky and the plastic mechanisms are prone to breaking.  A number of people buy VendStars for next to nothing, put them in a location til they break and then throw them away.