Spreadsheet

You're micromanaging one machine.  This will work until you get a few machines out and then the data entry will kill you.  You need to record sales by category, not item level.  This is the kind of thing a data recorder will do for you easily but requires equipment and subscriptions. Don't worry, everyone tries to micromanage and reinvent vending but then they all relax into the simplistic methods of record keeping.

Yeah, I use vendsoft.  I just have to put in all of the data but because of all of the data entry I do, and because of the prekitting I am able to do because of the data, I am able to stock machines pretty quick.  I don't know where everyone else is at, but I have 15+ years experience as a route driver (with over 11 of those years working for myself as my own route driver) and I can collect $300 out of two machines in about 30-45 minutes.  That includes all of the data entry I do in front of the machines as well.

In vending, and most other industries, I don't think it's necessary or even worth your time to try to reinvent the wheel.  It's a much better use of your time to just find out how to offer a better service than the competition.  That's super easy right now because large companies usually struggle to find enough staff, including vending companies.  Plus, a lot of drivers just don't care about their work.  Just promise to listen to their requests and that should be enough to get your foot in some doors.

7 hours ago, AngryChris said: