AMS 39-640 Will not accept money- "Service Change" Displayed

My previously working (for over a year) AMS 39 will not accept any money. The refrigeration unit has been removed so it's just a snack machine. It takes dollar bills then refunds four quarters. When depositing four quarters it registers the four quarters credit, then refunds them. When opening the machine and pressing the service mode button it displays "0 errors" then displays "service change". I swapped the coin mechanism with a unit from another machine and the same things happens. I filled all the coin tubes to the top. I believe this coin mechanism is workable but will swap it for another if that's recommended. Maybe both are fried? Any help is appreciated. I'm fairly new to vending and would like to troubleshoot this without calling a repairman. Thanks, Ted. c#949 466-1085

Did you check the prices?  It doesn't sound like it lost its pricing but it could have.  Also, you may have to perform a tube fill.  If the machine is keeping track of the coin level instead of that coin mech, and you've been refillinh it manually, it could think it's low on change, particularly nickels and dimes.  If so, it will let you purchase with nickels and dimes.