Is this route worth it?

Cdye23

Hey everyone. I've been interested in bulk vending for a while but never really pulled the trigger. I saw an ad for a machine in our local newspaper and it turns out the guy has an entire route to sell. Being a newbie I have no idea if his asking price is in the ballpark or not. When I met up with him he gave me the normal hot air "my accountant says the route should be priced 2-3 times gross sales so you're really getting a deal", "I only work about 2 hours a month" and my favorite, when I asked to see the bank statements he said "well what I report isn't what I really make". Enough of the back story. Here's the details:

Equipment (age unknown but at least 6-7 years old based on revenue data):

Placed

• 20 placed gumball machines that say "Big Rumble" on them but they look a lot like the spiral Wizard to me
  • 9 placed U-Turn 4
  • 1 placed U-Turn 8

Not Placed

• 5 spiral gumball machines
  • 1 "Lil Rumble" machine
  • 1 U-Turn 4

Revenue (on his excel sheet, not bank statements):

Yearly Gross: $12,989

Yearly Net: $4,797 (in his terms basically based on 50% profit on most locations but only 25% profit on the most profitable locations)

Misc Info: 

• Asking price does not include any extra parts (of which he shows he has plenty)
  • Locations are included in price
  • Product currently in machines is included with sale
  • Monies currently in machines is not included with sale
  • Locations are not efficient - just three of them would take me 4-5 hours to service due to driving distance (but those are the most profitable (high schools)
  • Seller's not too motivated but is getting bored with the business 
  • The route is currently commission based and are between 30%-40% gross
  • He said he would finance the deal making me think the figures are more solid

Asking Price: $6,175

My biggest hesitation is the time it will take to service all of the out-of-town machines. I have a full time job and a new baby at home.